Beautiful black swans in flight

Fine art photography
Beautiful Black Swans in flight

A shot from my Son’s”best day ever”!

We took a boat trip around the lake at the Mareeba Wetlands, Queensland , Australia, and there were several black swans (Cygnus atratus) gracefully paddling as swans do. I had assumed that all their plumage was pure black and only when these 2 appeared in flight did I see that the front third or so of the wings are pure white, which disappears entirely the moment they touch down.

the background shows a shallow fringe of reeds, Eucalyptus trees and the lighter patches are huge termite mounds

Taken from the boat with the Canon 7D and my favourite Wildlife lens, the Canon 100-400 mm F/4.5-5.6 EF L IS USM Lens

As for me, it has to be one of my best days ever too :0)

PS it is Harvey’s 12th Birthday today, so this ones for him šŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Beautiful black swans in flight”

  1. Such beautiful birds. We had a pair on a lake in Hampshire, near my old house in Alresford. They were always popular. Happy birthday Harvey – stay interested in wildlife. If you don’t know it there is a film called Harvey – one of my all time favourites – black and white, starring Jimmy Stewart. Well worth watching.

    Like

    1. Hi Andrew. I do know of the film and have promised to show it to Harvey one day – just a question of tracking it down :-). The Black Swans really are such graceful birds. Alresford is a delightful village. I was born in Winchester and grew up in Hook, near Basingstoke. How long ago did you leave the UK?

      Like

      1. I have been in HK since 97 except for a few years when I worked in London. I lived in the Winchester area 87-97. My brother lived there maybe 40 years until he died in 2012. He lived in Owslebury most of that time. It’s a great county.

        Like

    1. Harvey says thank you ;-). I cannot praise this lens highly enough and have used for insect through to landscapes as well as the wildlife I tend to photograph. I have many lenses, but this one is on the 7D 99.99% of the time šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment