Black Headed Gull, Rye Harbour, Kent, England

Black Headed Gull Rye Harbour Kent
Black Headed Gull Rye Harbour Kent

Happy Wild Bird Wednesday :0)

Click the link below to see photographs from many talented folk around the world and feast your eyes on our fine feathered friends!!

Wild Bird Wednesday

I have barely been out with my camera for the last few months but have been looking through some of my archives. I stumbled across this one from my first proper day out just after I got my first DSLR in June 2012. Here we have a Black Headed gull (Chroicocephalus ridibundus) a small gull with amber status, but common on the Kent Coast in England, where I took this in Rye Harbour. I do like this shot (especially as it was on my first “proper” day out with a DSLR (!) and was surprised not to have shared it before. I love the bokeh backdrop of waves and breakers and the position of the wings in gliding/hovering mode and the angle of the head with the drop of water on the tip of the beak.

Taken with the wonderful Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM lens on my Canon 7D. I am eagerly awaiting the arrival, if the rumours are well founded, of the canon 7D mark ii. I appreciate there are advantages with Full frame DSLRs, but the extra reach afforded by cropped frame for wildlife is something I see as an advantage with a cropped frame (1.6X on the Canons). though some say cropping from a full frame is at least as good image quality wise. The 7D has served me well and I have shots which I am very proud of, but I have many buried on my hard drive never to see the light of day. My main gripes are the noise above 800 ISO and the focus which is a trifle hit and miss. Sometimes it deals with tricky shots perfectly but fails miserably on static objects!!

There are more rumours about a Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM mark ii. To be honest, I think I have not been good enough for Santa to get me both for Christmas, but a second body would be rather wonderful :0)

14 thoughts on “Black Headed Gull, Rye Harbour, Kent, England”

  1. This is technically good (no blown whites) and good to look at at so maybe you do deserve the new lens AND body, James. I gave away my 7D in frustration because I did not like the noise above ISO 800. The light in HK tends to be grey and flat much of the time and I ended up going full frame. The old 100-400 was a great workhorse lens – I took mine to Galapagos in 1999 and have used it on and off ever since. It has need a few repairs along the way. I think a new updated version could be very desirable for things like safari. The 200-400mm is out of my budget. Go for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers Andrew! I adore my 100-400 and really have no complaints, so the new one would have to be extremely good to use my budget on. The 600mm or the 200-400 are a distant dream for now, but genuinely excited about the prospect of a replacement to the 7D. If the rumours are right, it should have excellent noise control and a much improved focus system, my 2 gripes on the current model.

      Like

    1. Many thanks for the link to Lizie’s blog M-R. What a small world it is :0). They are a delightful gull and not thuggish in any way like most other gulls I have encountered and much more delicate in appearance. Thanks again and I am now following another loevly blog!!!

      Like

  2. Nice looking birds – I always look though our flocks of Silver Gulls in the hope of finding one, but none so far.

    I have some images of this species I will post soon.

    Sorry for the much delayed reply – I’ve been in the UK for a month and I decided to let the blogging take a back seat – normal service will resume very soon.

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    Like

Leave a Reply

